

# Delete a Workspace and notebook files in EMR Studio
<a name="emr-studio-delete-workspace"></a>

When you delete a notebook file from an EMR Studio Workspace, you delete the file from the **File browser**, and EMR Studio removes its backup copy in Amazon S3. You do not have to take any further steps to avoid storage charges when you delete a file from a Workspace.

When you delete *an entire Workspace*, its notebook files and folders will remain in the Amazon S3 storage location. The files continue to accrue storage charges. To avoid storage charges, remove all backed-up files and folders that are associated with your deleted Workspace from Amazon S3.

**To delete a notebook file from an EMR Studio Workspace**

1. Select the **File browser** panel from the left sidebar in the Workspace.

1. Select the file or folder you want to delete. Right-click your selection and choose **Delete**. The file disappears from the list. EMR Studio removes the file or folder from Amazon S3 for you.

------
#### [ From the Workspace UI ]

**Delete a Workspace and its associated backup files from EMR Studio**

1. Log in to your EMR Studio with your Studio access URL and choose **Workspaces** from the left navigation.

1. Find your Workspace in the list, then select the check box next to its name.

1. Choose **Delete** in the upper right of the **Workspaces** list and confirm that you want to delete the selected Workspace. Choose **Delete** to confirm.

1. If you want to remove the notebook files that were associated with the deleted Workspace from Amazon S3, follow the instructions for [Deleting objects](https://docs.aws.amazon.com/AmazonS3/latest/user-guide/delete-objects.html) in the *Amazon Simple Storage Service* *Console User Guide*. If you did not create the Studio, consult your Studio administrator to determine the Amazon S3 backup location for the deleted Workspace.

------
#### [ From the Workspaces list ]

**Delete a Workspace and its associated backup files from the Workspaces list**

1. Navigate to the **Workspace**s list in the console.

1. Select the Workspace that you want to delete from the list and then choose **Actions**.

1. Choose **Delete**.

1. If you want to remove the notebook files that were associated with the deleted Workspace from Amazon S3, follow the instructions for [Deleting objects](https://docs.aws.amazon.com/AmazonS3/latest/user-guide/delete-objects.html) in the *Amazon Simple Storage Service* *Console User Guide*. If you did not create the Studio, consult your Studio administrator to determine the Amazon S3 backup location for the deleted Workspace.

------